Google Wallet is now available in 60 countries


Google Wallet is coming to more countries. In a community post on Tuesday, the company announced that its payments app is now available in Costa Rica, Ecuador, and Kuwait. With this expansion, the total number of supported countries has gone up to 60.

Google launched Wallet as a rebranded and improved version of its payments app at its I/O annual developer conference in May last year. Still known as Google Pay or GPay in some markets, the new solution is home to all digital items that you want to store securely on your phone. While storing credit and debit card information for making quick payments is its primary use, the app also serves as a storage hub for your certificates and IDs. You can store your driver’s license, event tickets, flight boarding passes, transit cards, loyalty cards, digital car keys, vaccine cards, and more here.

The app is available for all Wear OS-powered smartwatches, including the Google Pixel Watch and Samsung’s Galaxy Watch lineup. If your watch is running Wear OS 2, you can pair it with an Android phone or iPhone. But for Wear OS 3 devices, the support is limited to just Android. In some markets, Wallet payments are only supported via phone and not smartwatches. Meanwhile, in some other markets, you can also Google Wallet on a Fitbit device as well. We expected the company to add more features and support more devices in the coming months.

Google Wallet reaches more markets

At launch, Google Wallet was available in a handful of countries. But the company has been quick to bring it more markets. By July, the service had already rolled out to users in 39 countries. It last provided a formal update on the availability of Wallet in August last year. Back then, the payments app was available in 45 countries around the world. The update came after it rolled out the app in Azerbaijan, Iceland, Moldova, Qatar, Serbia, and South Africa.

The latest update from Google now mentions availability in 60 countries. That means Wallet has been expanded to over a dozen countries over the past few months. Some of the recent additions include Armenia, Cyprus, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Thailand, and Vietnam. You can find the full list of countries where Google Wallet is available here. We will keep you posted as the app reaches more markets. If Google Wallet has just reached your country, you can click the button below to download the app from the Google Play Store.



Source link

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: